Book Review: Alive by Scott Sigler

Title: Alive
The Generations Trilogy
Author: Scott Sigler
Publisher: Del Ray
Publish Date:
368 pages, ebook


I am not sure I really know what I was getting in to with this book. I saw the cover, read the description, maybe just skimmed it and bought it. Each and every chapter I wondered where this was going and occasionally even wondered why I was reading it.

Do not get me wrong. It isn't that I didn't like the book. But I was confused about the point of the story. Is it about human conflict and human decisions and human emotions? But then again, the characters we deal with are not real, are they? Each time a new subject was introduced, I lost more focus of the book.

It was well written as the characters developed nicely and the plot kept going, but where and how I am still unsure.

I really thought the parts where Em wondered about her being the leader and whether or not she was making the right decisions for the group were right on with human questions. She was so lost through this book, but continued to self reflect and consider, what I felt were good questions. I really thought the characters were awesome as there was a person for each one of us to relate to. They each had their own conundrum to work through and then continue with the group. This was my favorite part of this book. 

I will be looking up other Scott Sigler books as I said, his writing was well done. I look forward to finding a book I truly enjoy from the beginning to end.

Goodreads Description:
From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

No comments: